A DUI And Your College Career


Our San Jose DUI Lawyer Discusses Drunk Driving Charges and College

It is no secret what teens do when they go off to college: they study and socialize. Socialization frequently leads to alcohol consumption, often perceived as a necessary part of the integration period. Many college students are over the age of 21, which is the legal drinking age. However, there are many more within the 17 to 21-year-old age bracket, and if these students are consuming alcohol on a regular basis, trouble may be imminent. However, regardless of age, a DUI conviction has the potential to wreak havoc on educational opportunities.

San Jose Colleges and Universities

Were you aware that San Jose is home to 63 colleges and universities? Of course, you have heard of the larger options, but there are a significant amount of smaller establishments geared toward higher learning. Students go to learn and socialize – sometimes too much socializing. In one study, approximately 56 percent of students admitted to drinking within the last month. Researchers believe that alcohol is to blame for some of the trouble within the college-aged community, which is why many of these educational facilities have policies in place to reduce inebriation. A few statistics include:

  • Approximately 1,825 college students die each year from alcohol-related injuries, such as car accidents,
  • Roughly 696,000 students report being assaulted by an intoxicated student, and
  • 97,000 students report being the victim of date rape or sexual assault while drinking.

University Response

San Jose is second in line for the nation’s highest rate of drunk drivers per capita, seconded only by San Diego. Yes, both are close to fantastic wineries and schools. However, the law enforcement in this area is also tight on drunk driving. If you are a college student accused of driving while intoxicated, it is important to note that there are potentially serious repercussions to your college career. Each college and university sets its policies with regard to drinking. Your school’s regulations should be readily available to you either online or at the admissions office. A few of the more common restrictions include:

  • Denial of admission to the university due to reckless behavior,
  • Failure to report the DUI may result in suspension,
  • Multiple DUI may result in permanent or temporary suspension,
  • Loss of financial aid, or
  • Denial to specialized educational programs.

Prevention Is Key

Although you may have submitted to a breathalyzer or other form of chemical testing, you are not yet convicted. You have the opportunity to fight the charges against you. If you are a student under the age of 21, the state of California has significantly harsher penalties for you rather than someone of legal drinking age. Additionally, with a DUI conviction, your insurance payments will increase. It is important to put a stop to the process as soon as possible. Retaining specialized DUI counsel will benefit your case significantly. If you are interested in discussing your case with a San Jose, CA DUI defense attorney, contact the Law Offices of Thomas Nicholas Cvietkovich today by calling (408) 898-9770 to schedule your free and confidential initial consultation.




Related Posts
  • Arrested For DUI In San Jose – What Should I Do Next? Read More
  • Understanding The Administrative Per Se Law For DUI In California Read More
  • 3 Types Of Consequences Faced By Underage Drinkers On College Campuses Read More